David A. Crown

ASQDE President - 1980-1982

David A. Crown

Dr. David Crown was the 16th President of the American Society of Questioned Document Examiners.

Dr. Crown held a Bachelor of Science from Union College in Schenectady, New York, as well as a Master of Criminology and a Doctor of Criminology from the University of California in Berkeley.  He  held Adjunct Professor positions with the Antioch School of Law and the American University in Washington, DC, as well as other teaching positions at George Washington University, Georgetown University, and Chabot College.  He was the author of the book "The Forensic Examination of Paints and Pigments" as well as numerous journal articles and professional papers.

He was Chief of the Questioned Documents Laboratory, Central Intelligence Agency, Washington, DC, Director of the Questioned Documents Staff Department of State, Washington, DC, and Assistant Director, U.S. Postal Inspection Service Laboratory, San Francisco, California.

Dr. Crown was a Retired Fellow of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) and from 1974-1975 was the President of the organization.  He also held the position as the Chairman of the Questioned Document Section of the AAFS.  In 1973 and 1975, Dr. Crown received Awards of Merit from the AAFS.  He was Chairman of the Questioned Document Subcommittee of the American Society of Testing & Materials (ASTM) and the Vice Chairman of the Forensic Science Committee of the ASTM.  He was on the Board of Directors and Board of Trustees of the Forensic Science Foundation.  He was Assistant Editor of the Journal of Forensic Sciences and also served on the editorial board.  Dr. Crown was also a member of the Mid-Atlantic Association of Forensic Scientists, the Southeastern Association of Forensic Document Examiners, and a Diplomate of the American Board of Forensic Document Examiners.

In 2010, Dr. Crown was awarded the Albert S. Osborn Award of Excellence for his many contributions to the ASQDE and the profession as a whole.  He passed away in 2016.